Keep The Head On My Chicken

headless chicken

These last few days seem like a blur – I’ve been running around like a headless chicken, in a million different directions with no clear destination.  My brain is telling me to slow down and focus, while my heart is jumping all over the place from one idea to the next.  It’s dizzying and exhilarating at the same time.  I think that because I’ve been waiting for so long for this decision to happen, now that it finally has, I feel like I have to make up for lost time.  Logically, I know that’s not the case – but logic seems to grow wings around here!

I’ve got unfinished lists coming out the wazoo – I’ve got half-formed ideas lurking in the corners of my brain – I’ve got good intentions, but zero focus.  I need to breathe.  I need to relax.  I need to concentrate.

One thing at a time…okay…maybe two.  While I’m on this ongoing decluttering rampage, I also need to find a way, or ways, to make extra money.  This extra money will have two tasks: Saving for the Big Day, and Clearing All Debt and Cleaning my Credit.  Yikes!!!  This in its own is daunting and a chore that scares the noodles out of me!!  I have never been good with my money, and there’s not a whole lot of it going around these days.

So I’m going to attack this with everything I’ve got!  Other homesteading bloggers I started following seem to live by the teachings of Dave Ramsey…and others in my life have mentioned him to me before as well… millions of people can’t be wrong!  So I’m gonna check him out!  I need …my family needs… some serious financial education.  And although I read over and over again that you don’t need to have a lot of money to become a homesteader, I’d nonetheless like to be financially CLEAN – Zero (or near) debt, a great credit score, and a little buffer of savings.  I also would love to be able to pay up front for any land we decide to purchase when the time comes, and I believe that with knowledge, and wil
l power, we can achieve this.

I’ve put myself on a spending freeze (excluding necessities such as fuel, groceries, and monthly bills), and so far (it’s only been 3 days), so good.  Instead of stopping off at the local coffee shop every morning before dropping my daughter off at school, we fill up travel mugs with our own brewed java, and eat breakfast at home before we leave.  My daughter may not be too pleased with this new arrangement, but at 16 she should know the value of a dollar, and the even greater value of discipline.  So Maxwell House in our travel mugs it is!  This new breakfast ritual alone will save me approximately $50.00 per week…not even considering the lunches I now pack for us as well…another $50-$70….  I just took a break from this post to check my bank account – I’m so ashamed, but I’m going to write it anyway for the sake of staying true.  Between September 1st and October 31st…that’s 2 months… I spent a total of $608.82 on breakfasts, lunches, and miscellaneous other food outings.  It makes me sick to my stomach that I could spend that much money without noticing the gravity of it!  Redirecting even $100 of it towards extra groceries every month would not only give us enough food at home to cover every breakfast, lunch, and dinner…but it would also put over $200 back in my pocket every single month!!  That’s $2400 a year… an entire month’s pay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I think I’m going to be sick……..

Wow, so this blog entry seems to appear more like a personal journal than a public posting…thankfully it’s brand new and not advertised, so I doubt anyone is really reading this.  But if you ARE, I’m sorry! 🙂  I should probably delete the whole thing, but I won’t.

I apologize for the incessant rambling…that’s the headless chicken going wild on me again!  At least it’s in one general direction this time…maybe I can manage to keep the head on my chicken for a little while!  Wish me luck…with me behind the wheel, I’m definitely going to need it!!!

Leave a Reply

