Minimalist Living

After last night’s conversation with Jamie (hubby), and my renewed and finally supported dream of becoming self-sustainable off-grid homesteaders, I’ve been able to think of very little else all day.  I’ve just finished reading all of the blog entries on the “About” page of Pure Living for Life’s blog page, and although I realize it’s not going to happen overnight and will take vast amounts of blood, sweat, and probably tears, I’m even more determined that we can do this!

After reading many homesteading blogs and articles, I’ve noticed a trend that many people go into this adventure with very little knowledge and relatively no experience when it comes to actually building things.  Here is where I have an up!  Jamie is a contractor by trade, and just recently opened a brand new custom renovations company (which I’m hoping will help ease the financial burdens a little!), and knows all of the ins and outs of pretty much every aspect of construction.  The LEAST of my worries is having a well-built, solid home when all is said and done.  That doesn’t mean, however, that there are no concerns.  It’s all a little bit overwhelming, although quite exciting at the same time.  Reading about building laws, wells, septic, climate…so much to take into consideration!  But since we haven’t really started yet, other than a simple conversation, I still have plenty of time to stress over all of those details.  So I’m taking them on one at a time.

My plan, I’ve decided, is not only to start saving now, but also start learning and preparing now.  Our goal is to make the leap when our daughter has completed her post-secondary education.  She’s now in her 3rd year of high school, so we have a few years to get ready.  The blog post that really caught my attention tonight was the one about changing our way of life…we all seem to want the latest and greatest, and more of it.  And what I read tonight coincides perfectly with a decision I’d made myself not too long ago about decluttering our lives.  When we stop and think about it, we have so many “things” in our homes that we don’t ever need or use…so why do we keep them?  They’re dust-catchers at best.

So this has now solidified my plan to completely declutter our home…and why wait until it’s time to go when I could get started right now?  From simple things like consolidating my dozens of cook books into one, to larger and more daunting tasks like attacking our “junk room” (Yes…most people have a junk drawer…I have a junk room.  Sad.  I know.)  This could take some time, but Rome wasn’t built in a day, and we’re not moving tomorrow!  But if I start now, and start implementing minimalist living into our lives right away, then it won’t be such a stretch or adjustment when the big day comes around!  What I’m NOT going to do however; because I just don’t have it in me; is go drastic.  I see so many articles and images on the internet regarding minimalist living, and the rooms look so stark, cold, and void.  I need warmth.  I need comfort.  And I need my “Country” look, which inevitably includes trinkets.  I promise not to overdo it…but my giant red ceramic rooster is staying!!!    ….now… to get started on those cook books!

4 thoughts on “Minimalist Living

  1. Alyssa

    So awesome to hear you are starting your journey now with little things, and I’m glad our blog gave you some inspiration! You’re right… I think many embark on this journey with little experience, especially on the building side, so your husband being a contractor will give you a boost no doubt. He may also have great contacts for extra building supplies which is a huge cost and could be a substantial savings for you. We started with the little things as well and I think you’re right that the big key is to not do anything drastic but to start by taking little steps. Soon enough, that will result in an overhaul in your life but gradually so that it’s not a shock. Best of luck to you and your family!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment Alyssa! Yes you’re right, those industry connections are great and will definitely be an asset! And the fact that he already has (almost) all of the tools we would need is great too. The equipment to make our own lumber however, that’s going to need to be acquired, and the skill learned! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your journey, it’s a great educational tool for me! 🙂

      Like

  2. This post is so profound. Can you imagine if butterflies didn’t have to be a catapillar first, then go through metaporphisis? Can you imagine if babies were born running and never had to roll, crawl, walk and then run?

    There’s this unspoken thing in all of our heads. We want it ALL. And….we want it NOW. Alyssa and I have practiced this lifestyle for years. It takes PRACTICE! There are things, behaviors and habits you think you could never live without. One brick at a time we are building this life but it took breaking bad habits one at time , giving up things one at a time to get here.

    When the light goes on in someone’s head that all anyone is doing is practicing, you realize you can do anything they can do….with practice!

    Our weak flesh, heavily programmed minds, lifelong habits and the abundance of unsupportive people make it all too easy to “go back to our old ways”.

    Thus we must also practice finding supportive people. Something we haven’t needed really to do in the past because we never went against the grain.

    Powerful stuff, we’re excited to watch your “pre-launch” transformation and don’t hesitate to reach out if you need a mega boost to keep on track.

    Like

    1. Thanks Jesse! I love the metamorphosis reference, what a great way to phrase it! When we moved to the country 3 years ago, it was a first step in the right direction. I’m a country girl, but my husband was born and raised in Toronto, city boy to the core. So when he seemed to have that ‘aha moment’ without any prodding, I was so proud and excited! You’re absolutely right about the need for practice, and that’s exactly why I’m starting now, that we still have a few years ahead of us before we can make this leap. I’m hoping when the time comes, it’ll be a somewhat painless transition in most aspects. Of course I realize that it will take a lot of hard work and adjustment, but at least if we start now, we can have a few years’ “pseudo-experience” under our belts. 🙂 I think it’s really wonderful that both you and Alyssa commented on my post, it really means a lot to me that you’ve both taken the time out of your busy schedules to acknowledge me. Thank you so so much!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

